AAC PRIVACY POLICY

The Agility Association of Canada (AAC) recognizes the importance of privacy and the sensitivity of personal information. AAC is committed to respecting the privacy rights of all individuals, including members, non-member participants, employees, volunteers and other individuals involved with AAC, by ensuring that their personal information is collected, used, and disclosed in accordance with applicable privacy legislation.

A. SCOPE

This privacy policy applies to all personal information collected, used, disclosed, and retained in any form by AAC about our members, non-member participants, employees, volunteers, and other individuals involved with AAC.
Personal information includes any information about an individual that does or could identify an individual, including information relating to personal characteristics, physical description, activities or views. It does not include aggregated information that cannot be associated with a specific individual. Personal information also does not include name, title, or business contact information.
The application of this policy is subject to the requirements and provisions of applicable federal and provincial privacy legislation and any other applicable legislation or regulations.
AAC may change the terms of this policy from time to time and will make available any updated version of this policy.

B. PRINCIPLES

1. Accountability
AAC is accountable for personal information in its custody or control.
AAC will continue to implement procedures to protect the privacy of personal information with safeguards appropriate to the sensitivity of the information. For example, AAC will safeguard personal information in its custody or control from loss or theft and from unauthorized access, use, disclosure, copying or modification through appropriate security measures depending on the sensitivity, format and storage of the personal information. As well, AAC will use care when destroying or disposing of personal information to prevent unauthorized access, use or disclosure of any personal information.
AAC will seek assurances regarding the privacy of personal information that has been transferred to a third party for use or processing by requiring that those third parties safeguard all personal information as required by law.
AAC employees with access to personal information are expected to respect the confidentiality of such information.

2. Notice and Consent
AAC will generally obtain consent from individual members, non-member participants, and others regarding the purpose for collection, use or disclosure of personal information before, or at the time it collects the personal information, except as required by law. Consent may be express, deemed or implied.
Except in limited circumstances, the consent of an individual may be withdrawn at any time. These limited circumstances include where the personal information is required to provide the good or service, or the withdrawal of the consent would frustrate the performance of a legal obligation. The withdrawal of consent may restrict ACC’s ability to provide a particular good or service— if this is the case, ACC will explain the situation to assist the individual in making the decision.
Pursuant to applicable provincial legislation, AAC will provide notice to its employees and volunteers before collecting, using or disclosing personal information reasonably necessary for establishing, managing, or concluding the employment or volunteer relationship. Notice may be express, constructive or implied in the circumstances.
In determining the appropriate form of consent, or notice if applicable, AAC will consider the sensitivity of the personal information and the reasonable expectations of the subject individual.
In seeking consent or in giving notice of collection, AAC will explain in plain language the purposes for which personal information will be collected, used or disclosed. The purposes may be expressed orally or in writing.
AAC may collect personal information using a variety of means, including written and verbal communications and through its website.
AAC collects, uses and discloses personal information for a variety of purposes, including:

  1.  to understand the needs and preferences of members, non-member participants, employees, and volunteers;
  2.  to develop, enhance, market or provide agility-related products and services to meet the needs or expectations of members and non-member participants;
  3.  to maintain complete and accurate membership files for business purposes (e.g. membership renewals, communication with members, voting, newsletter dissemination, and the delivery of agility awards and titles);
  4.  to manage and develop business and operations, including personnel and employment matters, and billing for goods and services;
  5.  to meet legal and regulatory requirements;
  6.  to comply with lawful requests from government agencies (e.g. Revenue Canada); and
  7.  such additional purposes that are identified to an individual.

On request, persons collecting personal information will elaborate on the purpose or object for such collection or refer the individual to the designated person who can do so.
Personal information will not be used or disclosed for any new purpose without first identifying the new purpose and providing notice to or obtaining the consent of the individual, as applicable, unless permitted by law.
In some circumstances, AAC may collect, use or disclose personal information without notice or consent. Some examples include:

  1. it is reasonable to expect that the collection with the consent of the individual would compromise the availability or the accuracy of the personal information and the collection is reasonable for an investigation or a proceeding;
  2. the collection is necessary to determine the individual's suitability to receive an honour, award or similar benefit;
  3. it is clearly in the individual’s best interest and the appropriate notice or consent cannot be obtained in a timely manner;
  4. there is an emergency that threatens an individual's life, health, or personal security;
  5. it is to a lawyer representing AAC; and
  6.  it is required or authorized by law.

3. Limiting Collection, Use, Disclosure, and Retention of Personal Information
AAC will take reasonable steps to limit the amount and type of personal information it collects uses and discloses. AAC only collects personal information which is reasonably necessary for its identified purposes. AAC will keep personal information for only as long as necessary for the identified purposes or as required by law.
If personal information has been used to make a decision about an employee or another individual, AAC will keep the personal information for at least one year and, if necessary, a reasonably sufficient additional period to allow the individual to have access to it after the decision has been made.
AAC will maintain controls, schedules, practices and procedures for retention and destruction of personal information.

4. Access, Openness, and Compliance
AAC is open about its privacy policy and will make this policy available to members, non-member participants, employees, and volunteers, and to other individuals upon request. On request, AAC will also advise if and how an individual can access their personal information.
Any individual may request to be informed of the existence, use and disclosure of personal information pertaining to him or her. Upon a good faith request in writing, AAC will respond to the individual making the request within 30 business days of the request. AAC may extend the response time in certain cases. Unless exempted by law, AC will provide the individual with access to his or her personal information under AAC’s possession or control and an accounting of the collection, use and disclosure of his or her personal information.
Except for employee personal information, AAC may charge a reasonable fee for access. AAC may provide an estimate of the fee in advance and in some cases may require a deposit for all or part of the fee. The requesting individual may be asked to prove their identity.
AAC will not disclose personal information that:

  1. could reasonably be expected to threaten the safety or physical or mental health of an individual other than the individual who made the request;
  2. can reasonably be expected to cause immediate or grave harm to the safety or to the physical or mental health of the individual who made the request;
  3. would reveal personal information about another individual; and
  4. would reveal the identity of an individual who has provided personal information about another individual, such as reports, assessments, and reviews, and the individual providing the personal information does not consent to disclosure of his or her identity.

In some cases, AAC may not provide access to personal information. Examples of when this may occur are:

  1. it is work product information and/or disclosing the personal information could reveal confidential commercial or corporate information;
  2. if the personal information is protected by solicitor-client privilege;
  3. if the personal information relates to existing or anticipated legal proceedings against the individual making the request;
  4. if the personal information is collected for purposes of an investigation or the information is the result of an arbitration, mediation, or other formal dispute resolution process;
  5. where the request is frivolous or vexatious; and
  6. where the denial of access is required or authorized by law;

If AAC denies an individual’s request for access to personal information, AAC will advise the individual of the reason for the refusal.
AAC will use reasonable efforts to ensure that personal information is accurate and complete for the purposes for which it is to be used. An individual is permitted to challenge the accuracy and completeness of their personal information and, in appropriate circumstances, AAC will amend its records. Any differences as to accuracy or completeness that cannot be resolved will be noted in the individual’s file, if applicable.
AAC will not disadvantage an individual because the individual, acting in good faith, has invoked or may invoke, the provisions of this policy or any applicable federal or provincial privacy legislation.

C. INQUIRIES
ACC’s Privacy Officer may be contacted at:
Blanche Cooper
Administrator
Direct Line: 1-519-225-2821
E-mail: admin@aac.ca
Any concern, inquiry, or request related to privacy should be directed to the Privacy Officer.

PDF Copy: Privacy Policy 

20110603

POLITIQUE DE CONFIDENTIALITÉ DE L’AAC

L’Association d’agilité du Canada (AAC) est consciente de l’importance de protéger les renseignements personnels. L’AAC s’ engage à respecter les droits à la protection des renseignements personnels de toutes les personnes, y compris les membres, les participants non-membres, les employés, les bénévoles et les divers intervenants de l’AAC en s’assurant que leurs renseignements personnels sont recueillis, utilisés et divulgués conformément à la loi applicable sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

A. PORTÉE
Cette politique de confidentialité s’applique à tous les renseignements personnels recueillis, utilises, divulgués et conservé s par l’AAC sous toute s formes possibles à propos des membres, des participants non-membres, des employés, des bénévoles et des divers intervenants de l’AAC.
Les renseignements personnels comprennent toute information à propos d’une personne qui peut l’identifier, y compris de l’information relative à des caractéristiques personnelles, une description physique, des activités ou des points de vue. Elle ne comprend pas de l’information  globale qui ne peut être associée avec une personne particulière. Les renseignements personnels ne comprennent pas l’information sur le nom, le titre d’emploi ou les coordonnées d’affaires.
L’application de cette politique est assujettie aux exigences et dispositions des lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels fédérales et provinciales applicables et tout autre loi ou règlements applicables.
L’AAC peut modifier les modalités de cette politique de temps à autre et mettra à disposition une version à jour de cette politique.

B. PRINCIPE

1. Responsabilité
L’AAC est responsable des renseignements personnels dont elle a la garde ou qu’elle contrôle.
L’AAC continuera de mettre en place des procédures pour protéger les renseignements personnels avec des mesures appropriées à la sensibilité de l’information. Par exemple, l’AAC protègera les renseignements personnels dont elle a la garde ou qu’elle contrôle contre la perte ou le vol ainsi que d’un accès, d’une utilisation, d’une divulgation, d’une reproduction et d’une modification non autorisés par l’entremise de mesures de sécurité appropriées en fonction de la sensibilité, du format et du stockage des renseignements personnels. Pareillement, l’AAC prendra les mesures nécessaires lorsqu’elle détruit ou dispose des renseignements personnels pour empêcher l’accès, l’utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels
L’AAC obtiendra la certitude que les renseignements personnels transférés à un tiers pour utilisation ou traitement resteront confidentiels et que ce tiers protégera tous les renseignements personnels tel que l’exige la loi.
Il est entendu que les employés de l’AAC qui ont accès aux renseignements personnels respecteront la confidentialité de tels renseignements

2. Avis et consentement

L’AAC obtiendra généralement le consentement des membres individuels, des participants non membres et d’autres intervenants concernant l’objet de la collecte, de l’utilisation et de la divulgation des renseignements personnels avant ou au moment où elle les recueille, sauf tel qu’il est prévu par la loi. Le consentement peut être explicite, présumé ou explicite
Sauf dans des circonstances limitées, le consentement d’une personne peut être retiré en tout temps. Ces circonstances limitées comprennent ce qui suit : lorsque les renseignements personnels sont nécessaires pour procurer le bien ou le service ou que le retrait du consentement nuirait à l’exécution d’une obligation légale. Le retrait du consentement peut empêcher l’AAC de fournir un bien ou un service particulier—dans un tel cas, l’ACC expliquera la situation pour aider la personne à prendre une décision.
Conformément à la loi provinciale en vigueur, l’AAC avisera ses employés et ses bénévoles avant de recueillir, utiliser et divulguer des renseignements personnels raisonnablement nécessaires pour établir, gérer ou conclure une relation d’emploi ou de bénévolat. L’avis peut être exprès ou implicite dans ces circonstances.
En déterminant la forme appropriée du consentement ou de l’avis, le cas échéant, l’AAC tiendra compte de la sensibilité des renseignements personnels et des attentes raisonnables de la personne en question.
En obtenant un consentement ou en donnant avis de collecte de renseignements, l’AAC expliquera en langage clair et simple les motifs pour lesquels les renseignements personnels sont recueillis, utilises ou divulgués. Les motifs peuvent être exprimés verbalement ou par écrit.
L’AAC peut recueillir des renseignements personnels en utilisant diverses méthodes, y compris des communications verbales et écrites et par l’entremise de son site Web.
L’AAC recueille, utilise et divulgue des renseignements personnels pour diverses raisons, y compris :

  1.  pour comprendre les besoins et les préférences des membres, des participants non-membres, des employés et des bénévoles;
  2.  pour mettre au point, améliorer, mettre en marché ou procurer des produits et services relatifs à l’agilité pour répondre aux besoins ou attentes des membres et des participants non-membres;
  3.  pour maintenir des dossiers d’adhésion complets et exacts à des fins opérationnelles (par ex.: renouvellement d’adhésion, communication avec les membres, vote, distribution du bulletin et livraison des prix, brevets et titres);
  4.  pour gérer et développer les affaires et les opérations, y compris les questions personnelles et d’emploi, et facturer les biens et services;
  5.  pour se conformer aux exigences légales et réglementaires;
  6.  pour se conformer aux demander légales des agences gouvernementales (par ex.: Revenu Canada); et
  7.  pour toutes les autres fins qui sont identifiées à une personne.

Sur demande, les personnes qui recueillent des renseignements personnels élaboreront sur l’objet d’une telle collecte ou référeront le demandeur à la personne désignée qui peut la renseigner.
Les renseignements personnels ne seront pas utilisés ni divulgués pour une nouvelle fin sans d’abord identifier la nouvelle fin et donner avis ou obtenir le consentement d’une personne, le cas échéant, à moins que la loi le permette.
Dans certaines circonstances, l’AAC peut recueillir, utiliser ou divulguer des renseignements personnels sans avis ni consentement. Voici quelques exemples de ces circonstances :

  1. quand il est raisonnable de s’attendre à ce que la collecte avec le consentement de la personne compromettrait la disponibilité ou l’exactitude des renseignements personnels et la collecte est raisonnable pour une enquête ou une procédure;
  2. quand la collecte est nécessaire pour déterminer si un honneur, un prix ou un avantage similaire peut être décerné à une personne;
  3. quand il est clairement dans le meilleur intérêt de la personne et qu’il n’est pas possible de donner avis ou d’obtenir le consentement en temps utile;
  4. quand une urgence menace la vie, la santé ou la sécurité de la personne;
  5. quand les renseignements sont destinés à un avocat qui représente l’AAC; et
  6. quand elle est exigée ou autorisée par la loi.

3. Limiter la collecte, l’utilisation, la divulgation et la conservation des renseignements personnels 
L’AAC prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour limiter la quantité et le genre de renseignements personnels qu’elle recueille et divulgue. L’AAC ne recueille que les renseignements personnels qui sont raisonnablement nécessaires pour des fins identifiées ou tel qu’exigé par la loi.
Si des renseignements personnels ont été utilisés pour prendre une décision à propos d’un employé ou d’une autre personne, l’AAC conservera les renseignements personnels pendant au moins un an et, au besoin, pendant une période supplémentaire suffisante pour permettre à la personne d’y avoir accès une fois la décision prise.
Il incombe à l’AAC de maintenir les procédures, pratiques, calendriers et contrôles visant la conservation et la destruction des renseignements personnels.

4. Accès, transparence et conformité 
L’AAC veut être transparente à propos de sa politique de protection des renseignements personnels et cette politique est accessible sur demande aux membres, aux participants nonmembres, aux employés et aux bénévoles ainsi qu’aux autres intervenants. Sur demande, l’AAC expliquera aussi à une personne comment elle peut avoir accès à ses renseignements personnels.
Une personne peut demander d’être informée de l’existence, de l’utilisation et de la divulgation des renseignements personnels qui lui appartiennent. Sur demande par écrit de bonne foi, l’AAC répondra à la personne ayant fait une demande dans les 30 jours ouvrables suivant la demande. L’AAC peut prolonger le temps de réponse dans certains cas. À moins d’exemptionprévue dans la loi, l’AAC donnera accès aux renseignements personnels de la personne en fait la demande, renseignement qui sont en possession de l’AAC et sous son contrôle et l’informera sur la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation de ses renseignements personnels.
À l’exception des renseignements personnels des employés, l’AAC peut demander des frais d’accès raisonnables. L’AAC peut fournir une évaluation des frais d’avance et, dans certains cas, demander un dépôt couvrant la totalité ou une partie des frais. L’AAC peut demander au demandeur de renseignements de prouver son identité.
L’AAC ne divulguera pas des renseignements personnels qui :

  1. pourraient raisonnablement présenter une menace pour la sécurité ou la santé physique ou mentale d’une personne autre que celle qui a fait la demande;
  2. pourraient raisonnablement faire un tort immédiat ou grave à la sécurité ou à la santé physique ou mentale de la personne qui fait la demande;
  3. pourraient révéler des renseignements personnels à propos d’une autre personne; et
  4. pourraient révéler l’identité d’une personne qui a fourni des renseignements personnels à propos d’une autre personne, notamment des rapports, des évaluations et des examens et que la personne qui a fourni les renseignements personnels ne consent pas à ce qui sont identité soit divulguée.

Dans certains cas, l’AAC peut ne pas donner accès à des renseignements personnels. Voici quelques exemples de ces cas ::

  1. les renseignements sont le produit d’un travail et/ou la divulgation des renseignements personnels pourrait révéler des renseignements commerciaux ou d’entreprise confidentiels;
  2. si les renseignements personnels sont protégés par un privilège avocat-client;
  3. si les renseignements personnels se rapportent à des poursuites en justice en cours ou futures contre la personne faisant la demande;
  4. si les renseignements personnels sont recueillis dans le cadre d’une enquête ou que les renseignements découlent d’un arbitrage, d’une médiation ou d’un autre processus officiel de résolution des conflits;
  5. lorsque la demande est frivole ou vexatoire; et
  6. lorsque le refus d’accéder est exigé ou autorisé par la loi.

Si l’AAC refuse une demande d’accès à des renseignements personnels, l’AAC donnera le motif du refus au demandeur. 
L’AAC fera tous les efforts raisonnables pour s’assurer que les renseignements personnels sont exacts et complets pour les fins auxquelles ils sont destinés. Une personne peut contester l’exactitude et l’intégralité de ses renseignements personnels et, dans des circonstances appropriées, l’AAC modifiera ses dossiers. Toute différence quant à l’exactitude et l’intégralité qui ne peut être résolue sera mentionnée dans le dossier de la personne, le cas échéant.
L’AAC ne désavantagera pas une personne parce que, de bonne foi, elle s’est prévalu ou va se prévaloir des dispositions de cette politique ou de toute loi fédérale ou provinciale sur la protection renseignements personnels.

C. DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS 
Vous pouvez communiquer avec l’agent de la protection de la vie privée de l’AAC :
Blanche Cooper
Administratrice
Téléphone : 1-519-225-2821
Adresse électronique : admin@aac.ca
Adresser toute préoccupation, demande ou question concernant la protection de la vie privée à l’agent de la protection de la vie privée..